I woke up this morning thinking it was Saturday all ready and prepared myself for a lie-in. The realisation that we’re still in the working week is never a good start to the day.

Last night I managed to finally see the Top Gear road test that the whole office has been talking about at one point or another since it was aired: the ‘sensible’ road test for the new Ford Fiesta. I already liked the new Fiesta, I think they’ve done a wonderful job with the styling so I was curious to see what was so special about the road test which seemed to be plodding along at rather a pedestrian rate until the “what if I go to a shopping centre and get chased by baddies in a Corvette” section flashed on screen.

Very rarely have I appreciated that motoring show much lately, then I saw the new Ford Fiesta thrown around the inside of a shopping centre – I did remember thinking I felt sorry for whoever had the job of cleaning up after – trying to out manoeuvre the Corvette. They did a better car chase through a shopping centre and car park scene than the famous one in Blues Brothers.

Not only was there the Fiesta-goes-window-shopping scene but then the final flash card: “What if I’m asked to take part in a beach assault with the Royal Marines?” Suuuuuuuuurely I cannot have been the only person who watched that to go “no way!” But sure enough, there’s the new Fiesta in the middle of a landing craft and promptly filling with marines and water as it storms the beach to culminate in what has to be the most dramatic, panoramic and show-stopping final scene to a road test, anywhere. Ever.

No wonder people were talking about it. I wonder if Ford will change their advertising for it from “New Fiesta: This is now” to “New Fiesta: storm the beaches?” I doubt it, but I don’t think Ford’s agency could have come up with a better advert in their wildest dreams.

  1. 1 416

    Trackbacking your entry……




Leave a Reply

