Frustrating driving practices…

There’s a lot of things that other drivers do that get on my nerves. Don’t get me wrong – I don’t suffer from road rage and I’m not about to blast the horn or display my middle finger but…

This morning, for example, I joined the motorway at a good speed and was immediately overtaken by someone in a new Nissan Qashqai – I don’t know how to pronounce it either. Now given that I was on the inside lane and behind a lorry it’s understandable that said Nissan would feel the need to overtake. Except they didn’t, they just sat there at 60mph in the middle lane! Now I’m not advocating speeding but I’d just joined the motorway and needed to get to work so in order to progress at a ‘confident’ speed this meant I know had to navigate past the lorry on the inside and the Nissan in the middle lane.

If you insist on overtaking me (on principle or out of necessity) at least have the decency not to block me in and hold me up even further by slowing up the middle lane. How little consideration does it take to realise that if I’m joining the motorway I’m going to be speeding up and if you’re only interested in doing 60 then there’s NO point in overtaking at all let along clogging up another lane.

While this is just one of the things that wind me up on the roads it’s the most fresh in my mind, hence the rant. I can’t be alone in finding this practice annoying can I? Anyone share this? What really winds you up on the road? Lack of indicating? Sudden breaking? Please tell me, I’d feel better to know I’m not alone.

  1. rageagainsttherobots

    An older guy told me that there was not as much road rage in the ’70s. I think road rage is a barometer of society’s stress level.

  2. certainly an interesting take, though there were also less cars too

  3. Tony,
    I live in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada. People in Nova Scotia for the most part are very courteous, but that’s not to say we don’t have our share of incompetent drivers, who don’t understand the rules and common courtesy, or just don’t give a hoot. I notice this mainly on our highways. There is nothing more frustrating than having someone in the passing lane, going below the speed limit and staying there so we have to pass on the inside lanes. People today just don’t have enough common sense. Common sense is not so common these day’s. I have traveled, and see it every where I go. I used to get a bit of road rage, but it does nothing to educate the drivers, and just puts me in a bad mood. People have to understand that there are idiots who should not be on the roads..but what is the recourse? Now I just drive defensively,am aware of whats around me, and try to enjoy my journey…You are not alone!




Leave a Reply

